CINAHL Nursing and Allied Health Database Upgrade.

The health science database CINAHL Plus with Full Text from EBSCOhost has been a favorite of students in the College of Health for years.  Recently the Clayton State University Library opted to upgrade our CINAHL subscription to the “Complete” version to help meet the research needs of Clayton State students and faculty, particularly those in the health sciences programs.

The curriculum requirements for students in the College of Health include learning to find current, peer reviewed, journal articles for projects, papers, and real-world decision making.  One example is NURS 4100: Nursing Research, a required course for all Nursing majors.  NURS 4100 students conduct literature reviews to address a research question relevant to nursing.  At the end of the semester they share their findings as a poster presentation. Recent, peer reviewed journal articles provide the foundation for their research.

Students in HCMG 4901: Applied Research work together in teams to address real-world problems for health administrators in the Atlanta area.  The need for quality peer-reviewed journal articles to support a team’s recommendations is urgent considering the fact that their work could have real implications for real people.

CINAHL Complete Graphic

CINAHL Complete significantly increases the Clayton State University community’s access to health-related journal articles.  We offer students and faculty a number of excellent journal article databases in the health sciences.  Here are a few of the most popular along with some facts about CINAHL Complete’s journal coverage:

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest)
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Ovid Nursing and Allied Health Journals (OVID)

CINAHL Complete includes 5448 total journals indexed, 1450 full text journals, and coverage from 1937 to present.

Advertisements

Top 5: Films on Demand, June 2017

Films on Demand is an online streaming video subscription available to all Clayton State students. Last month users were busy watching the following titles:

5. Fanfare for America: The Composer Aaron Copland (58 mins)
This documentary presents an artful blending of the life and music of one of America’s great modern composers. The many milestones in Copland’s long career are discussed by his biographer, Howard Pollock, while stirring images of Copland’s native city are set to selections of his music as performed by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra.

4. Alice Walker (33 mins)
Alice Walker describes how the Civil Rights movement transformed her life, defines her concept of “womanism,” and explains her recurrent theme of a woman’s recovery of wholeness through resistance to racism and sexism.

3. Search for Identity—American Passages: A Literary Survey (27 mins)
Even as the poets were fostering a rebellion, contemporary prose writers began creating a new American tradition comprised of many strands, many voices, and many myths about the past. This program explores the search for identity by three American writers: Maxine Hong Kingston, Sandra Cisneros, and Leslie Feinberg.

2. A Conversation with Igor Stravinsky—From NBC’s Wisdom Series (29 mins)
This 1957 NBC program opens with the composer at his piano as he creates a “sketch” or initial concept for a new piece; it then records a detailed conversation between Stravinsky and his protégé, respected American musicologist and conductor Robert Craft.

and the number 1 Films on Demand video for June is:

1. The Common School: 1770–1890 (55 mins)
This program profiles the passionate crusade launched by Thomas Jefferson and continued by Noah Webster, Horace Mann, and others to create a common system of tax-supported schools that would mix people of different backgrounds and reinforce the bonds of democracy. A wealth of research illustrates how this noble experiment—the foundation of the young republic—was a radical idea opposed from the start by racial prejudice and fears of taxation.

New Resource: TumbleBook Cloud

TumbleBook Cloud is an online collection of eBooks, audio books, and National Geographic videos. You can make your own notes in any eBook and read along to the narration paired with line by line highlighting in any enhanced novel. Enjoy the classics, popular graphic novels, short stories, drama, poetry, or non fiction content covering a variety of history, civics, and science topics.  Teachers and parents will find common core aligned educator resources also included.

TumbleBook Cloud homepage arranged by tabs with book jacket images.

Learn more about our eBook collections from our eBooks @ Clayton State guide http://clayton.libguides.com/ebooks

Top 5: Films on Demand, August 2016

Films on Demand is an online streaming video subscription available to all Clayton State students. Last month users were busy watching the following titles:

5. Women First & Foremost (183 mins)
Hosted by Rita Moreno and Dee Wallace Stone. Volume 1: Remember the Ladies, Volume 2: Touching the Clouds with Pen and Plane, and Volume 3: A Lady in the Spotlight

4. Moyers & Company: Trading Democracy for “Security” (56 mins)
The violent Boston rampage triggered a government response that, according to journalist Glenn Greenwald, adds a new dimension to troubling questions about government secrecy, overreach, and what we sacrifice in the name of national security. In this edition of Moyers & Company, Greenwald joins Bill to peel back layers that reveal what the Boston bombings and drone attacks have in common and how secrecy leads to abuse of government power.

3. Shouting Fire: Stories from the Edge of Free Speech (73 mins)
What political guarantees must a society possess in order to truly enjoy freedom of expression? Do Americans ever benefit by limiting the scope of the First Amendment? This program examines those questions, focusing on case studies that weigh free speech against other societal influences. These include the backlash against University of Colorado professor Ward Churchill’s musings on imperialism in U.S. policy; principal Debbie Almontaser’s forced resignation from New York’s first Arabic-English public school due to her alleged terrorist sympathies; inappropriate or excessive restraint against protestors at the 2004 Republican National Convention; and the suspension of a San Diego high schooler for wearing a “Homosexuality Is Shameful” t-shirt.

2. Regional Realism—American Passages: A Literary Survey (27 mins)
Set in the antebellum American South, but written after emancipation, Mark Twain’s novel The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn remains a classic of American literature. This program compares Twain’s depiction of Southern vernacular culture to that of Charles Chestnutt and Kate Chopin, and in doing so, introduces the hallmarks of American Realism.

and the number 1 Films on Demand video for August is:

Map of the world with an orange background1. Explaining Globalization (55 mins)
Everyone talks about globalization, but what does it really mean? And what are its implications for the average American? In this compilation of NewsHour segments, experts from the U.S. and abroad speak their minds on a shrinking world and an expanding global economy.

June Featured Resource: Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is an evidence-based medicine resource that summarizes results of high-quality medical research to support health care decision-making.

06-Jun-Cochrane

The collection consists of 6 databases:

  1. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This is the primary output of The Cochrane Collaboration. Each Cochrane Review identifies an  intervention for a specific disease (or other problem in health care) and determines whether or not this  intervention works by summarizing the results of research gathered from randomized controlled trials
  2. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). This database includes details of published trials taken from bibliographic databases and other published resources. CENTRAL includes the title of the article, information on where it was published and, in many cases, the abstract.
  3. Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) A bibliography of publications that report on methods used when conducting controlled trials, studies of methods used in reviews, and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone  preparing systematic reviews. Records include  journal articles, books and conference proceedings.
  4. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) is a unique database, containing abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality assessed. Each abstract includes a summary of the review together with a critical commentary about the overall quality. DARE contains more than 19,000 such abstracts. Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) in York, UK.
  5. Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
    Details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. Produced by the CRD in York, UK
  6. NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED) Economic evaluations from around the world, evaluated for quality and highlighting relative strengths and  weaknesses of each study. Produced by the CRD in York, UK.

Research guides and tutorials are available from inside the Cochrane Library.

Top 5: Films on Demand, April 2016

Films on Demand is an online streaming video subscription available to all Clayton State students. Last month users were busy watching the following titles:

5. Ruling by the Book: Illuminations: The Private Life of Kings (60 mins)
Dr. Janina Ramirez unlocks the secrets of illuminated manuscripts that were custom-made for kings and explores the medieval world they reveal. She begins her journey with the first Anglo-Saxon rulers to create a united England, she views the Liber Regalis at Westminster Abbey, encounters books in the British Library’s Royal manuscripts collection which are over a thousand years old, and examines a royal family tree which is five meters long.

4. The Road to Freedom: Gandhi (52 mins)
In the final episode, Mishal Husain explores the dramatic last years of Gandhi’s life, which culminated in his death by an assassin’s bullet. She gets to the bottom of an enduring mystery—why is Gandhi revered as Father of the Nation, when India turned its back on Gandhi’s blueprint for the country? Mishal retraces Gandhi’s visit to England in 1931 and uncovers evidence that Gandhi may have unwittingly contributed to the eventual partition of India. Newsreel footage from the time captures Gandhi meeting the people of Lancashire and London’s East End, and Tony Benn recalls meeting him as a six-year-old boy. Sixteen years later, India is free, but by then Gandhi is a broken man: sidelined from the center of power and devastated by partition and the horrific violence that independence brings. But it is Gandhi’s darkest hour that finally brings his greatest triumph.

3. The First Europeans: Migrations from Africa (54 mins)
Out of the great cradle of Africa came several waves of prehistoric hominid populations, some venturing into the Middle East while others crossed land bridges into Spain. This program shows how, over millennia, these nomads laid the groundwork for a permanent human presence in Europe. From La Caune de l’Arago in France to Britain’s Boxgrove cliffs to a Hungarian riverbank where Neanderthals and anatomically modern humans may have intermingled, the film explores stone tool innovations, shelter technology, burial practices, and early art and craft examples through which we can trace the emerging dominance of Homo sapiens on the continent. Portions in other languages with English subtitles. Part of the series The First Europeans.

2. Cooperative Learning and Culture: The Effective Teacher (46 mins)
Award-winning educator, author, and lecturer Harry K. Wong, in this classic video presentation, describes his method for teaching students how to work in cooperative groups. Dr. Wong believes effective teachers begin a lesson with a motivator—or attention-grabber—related to the lesson and designed to pique students’ curiosity. Research shows that the most effective learning in the classroom is in support groups. By teaching students to work cooperatively in groups, you prepare them for tomorrow’s world. Through cooperative group work, students learn to be self-motivated, self-directed, and procedure-oriented. Effective teachers create a classroom culture while effective administrators create a school culture. Students are taught procedures that allow for the smooth and efficient functioning of a classroom/school. These procedures establish the culture or shared values of the classroom/school. When you walk into a classroom/school with culture, you can sense the unity and purpose—a sense of belonging. Part of the series The Effective Teacher.

and the number 1 Films on Demand video for April is:

fod-apr161. Save Our History: The Underground Railroad (92 mins)
The Underground Railroad was arguably the most important activist movement in American history, a loose network of people bound together by conscience and a determination to topple the institution of slavery by helping slaves escape to the North. “Conductors” risked fines and imprisonment for their devotion to the cause of freedom; “passengers” risked their lives. Hosted by Alfre Woodard, this program traces the hazardous journey undertaken by countless slaves, showing how they were guided—and pursued—along the way. Historical documents, visits to significant sites, and the rich music of the period are featured, as well as interviews with the descendants of noted abolitionists and commentary from experts including Ed Rigaud, president of the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center.

Top 5: Films on Demand, February 2016

Films on Demand is an online streaming video subscription available to all Clayton State students. Last month users were busy watching the following titles:

5. The Time Has Come 1964–1966: Eyes on the Prize—America’s Civil Rights Movement 1954–1985 (56 mins)
After a decade-long cry for justice, a new sound is heard in the civil rights movement: the insistent call for power. Malcolm X takes an eloquent nationalism to urban streets as a younger generation of black leaders listens. In the South, Stokely Carmichael and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) move from “Freedom Now!” to “Black Power!” as the fabric of the traditional movement changes.

4. Workplace Leadership (13 mins)
Why do some people make great leaders, and are they born or made? These are just some of the questions explored in this program. Individuals in all kinds of situations and positions can provide real leadership if they have the opportunity and the desire to do so. This video explores the effort and determination required to get ahead in various fields.

3. Comic Books and African-Americans (55 mins)
Early comic book portrayals of African-Americans were usually demeaning. “Negro Romance” reflects an effort to portray blacks favorably to whites. Orrin Evans reflected the other side of a larger debate, creating “All-Negro Comics” with black characters for black audiences.

2. Haiti and Dominican Republic: An Island Divided—Black in Latin America, with Henry Louis Gates Jr. (52 mins)
In the Dominican Republic, Professor Gates explores how race has been socially constructed in a society whose people reflect centuries of intermarriage, and how the country’s troubled history with Haiti informs notions of racial classification. In Haiti, Professor Gates tells the story of the birth of the first-ever black republic, and finds out how the slaves’ hard-fought liberation from Napoleon Bonaparte’s French empire became a double-edged sword.

and the number 1 Films on Demand video for February is:

fod-feb161. Nurturing Leadership (34 mins)
Are leaders born, or made? This video shows that while certain personality traits may influence leadership abilities, there are also leadership qualities that can be learned and nurtured. Business leaders, politicians, coaches and others share their perceptions of what it takes to be a leader, relating to viewers that observing certain principles and adopting admirable behaviors can help develop leadership attributes. Integrity, honesty, dependability and the belief in an organization’s core values are showcased, along with the elements necessary to create a culture of excellence. A basic definition of leadership as the action of leading a group of people toward a common goal is the preface to the importance of creating a vision of the future—the true mark of a leader. Listening, teamwork, motivation and the ability to engage others in a cause are also presented as leadership qualities. Many modern-day or historical capsules of leadership bring to life the concept of developing the traits to become a leader.

February Featured Resource: IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore provides technology journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, and standards published by the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IET). Technology touches all disciplines so users studying economics, animation, healthcare, business, education, life sciences, sociology, government, chemistry, or any other field will find relevant content for their research.

feb16source

Our IEEE Xplore subscription includes access to the full-text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:

  • IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
  • IEEE conference proceedings
  • IET journals
  • IET conference proceedings
  • IEEE published standards
  • IEEE Standards Dictionary Online

Users can personalize their IEEE Xplore search experience by creating targeted saved searches, setting up table of contents alerts, and customizing personal preferences. Refine your results by limiting by content type, year, author, affiliation, publication title, publisher, or conference location.

Sample Content

  • human-computer interaction
  • game design
  • artificial intelligence
  • cyber security
  • digital forensics
  • wireless security
  • therapeutic devices
  • medical imaging
  • 3D graphics
  • sustainable energy
  • geoscience
  • biomedicine

Resources and video tutorials are available to help you get started.

2015 Most Popular eJournal Titles

In 2015 the most frequently accessed journals for scholarship by the Clayton State community were:

5. Journal of Personality & Social Psychology
Publishes original papers in all areas of personality and social psychology and emphasizes empirical reports, but may include specialized theoretical, methodological, and review papers.
Full-text coverage: 1965 – present

4. Journal of Advanced Nursing
Contributes to the advancement of evidence-based nursing, midwifery and healthcare by disseminating high quality research and scholarship of contemporary relevance and with potential to advance knowledge for practice, education, management or policy.
Full-text coverage: 1981 – present (12 month delay)

3. Professional Psychology: Research & Practice
Publishes articles on the application of psychology, including the scientific underpinnings of the profession of psychology. Articles that present assessment, treatment, and practice implications are encouraged. Both data-based and theoretical articles on techniques and practices used in the application of psychology are acceptable.
Full-text coverage: 1969 – present

2. College Student Journal
Publishes original investigations and theoretical papers dealing with college student values, attitudes, opinions, and learning.
Full-text coverage: 1996 – present

and the number 1 journal for researchers in 2015 was:

C1 PAGE.indd 1. American Journal of Public Health (AJPH)
Published by the American Public Health Association since 1911. Publishes current, in-depth public health information. Selected as a core journal by the Public Health/Health Administration section of the Medical Library Association. AJPH is the publication health organizations depend on for authoritative editorials, thought-provoking commentary, and timely health policy analysis.
Full-text coverage: 1971 – present

 

 

Got Questions? Ask a Librarian

January Featured Resource: JoVE Science Education

JoVE Science Education: General Laboratory Techniques demonstrates how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions. Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

jan16source

Titles in collection:

  • An Introduction to the Centrifuge
  • Regulating Temperature in the Lab: Preserving Samples Using Cold
  • Introduction to Light Microscopy
  • Introduction to Fluorescence Microscopy
  • Histological Sample Preparation for Light Microscopy
  • Introduction to the Spectrophotometer
  • Measuring Mass in the Laboratory
  • An Introduction to Working in the Hood
  • Introduction to the Bunsen Burner
  • Introduction to Serological Pipettes and Pipettors
  • An Introduction to the Micropipettor
  • Making Solutions in the Laboratory
  • Understanding Concentration and Measuring Volumes
  • Introduction to the Microplate Reader
  • Regulating Temperature in the Lab: Applying Heat

Got Questions? Ask a Librarian